top of page

December 5 to January 2

January 2, 2017

Happy New Year!

Well it is officially 2017!!!! First I would like to say, HAPPY BIRTHDAY B-RAD!!!! Was thinking about you and I hope that you had a great week and birthday! So this week just blasted past. The time warp sure has set in and can`t believe that we are in January now!!

This last P-day we were with the zone. We ate at Norky`s which is a chicken place, it was really good. It was fun being with the other missionaries and talking about Christmas and how their families were. We then were able to go to the church and was a church movie. We decided on FreeTown and it was so cool and really made me reflect on the mission. I can honestly say that I love the Peru-Lima-Norte Mission!!! It is just a beautiful place and the people are just wonderful! That night we were able to teach a PF and the husband is Walter. Everyone in his family is a member but him. For this new year the schedule for church changed from 2pm to 8am. And with that he can attend church and accepted a baptismal date for the 14 of January. It`s amazing how the Lord works miracles and what`s cool is that his kid is coming back from his mission in February and he wants to enter the temple with his son! Such a cool experience with that family that night! Then we had a sweet FHE with the family. They have such a strong testimony now of the restored gospel! They finished first Nephi but didn`t really understand, so they read it again and have completed it and understood so much more! The diligence of this family. We are just waiting for the papers to go in for his divorce and then get married and baptized.

This last week we were able to find so many new investigators and help Nora and Jesus with a baptismal date. There is also another sweet family that we are working on and are progressing, they will have a baptismal date by the end of this week! Now Jesus is 21 years old and is sweet! In each lesson the Spirit was so strong and especially with Moises (Moses in English) who we helped get married last month. The love and concern that Moises had for him was really touching and I saw the power of friendship in the church. Many members left with us this week and there is such a difference with them! So if you are member, LEAVE WITH THE MISSIONARIES!!!

Also we did a work visit and I was with Elder Reher for that day and it was unbelievably good! Now if you don`t remember who he is I`ll help you, he was my companion in the CCM (MTC) and wow was it awesome to work with him. We had so much fun and stayed up all night talking. He is from Minnesota so we have the same Midwest cultures, hahaha. But it was a super special day!

There was New Year`s Eve that we had which was like Christmas with the fireworks. It was super sweet! I have a ton of videos of it and was really cool being with Omar y Karla as well! The only thing is that my companion left the keys in the house again and were locked out. The owner this time was out in the beaches for the whole weekend and there was not any spare key, lol. So we had to sleep on the couches, lol, and in the morning we had to break in to our own house, LOL. I am super tired still from it, lol. But that was something I will not forget!!

There was so much that happened and for the moment is what I would like to share with you! I love you!

Love,

Elder Langfoss

December 19, 2016

Hey everyone!

Next week, Christmas will all be over, wow! It`s remarkable how fast this month has gone! It is such a beautiful time of year, remembering Christ and the Atonement. On Tuesday, we had interviews with President Godfrey and it was super spiritual. He is a person that you always want to be around, whenever you are around him you feel like you are at the temple with one of the workers. But after the interview we did intercambios for a day and I was with Elder McClain from Springville, Utah. He is a sweet kid, was an excellent swimmer and had fun talking about that and also about cars hahaha. But from him I got the new videos of ¨The Life of Jesus Christ¨. And watching that was something truly special, I felt the Spirit super strong! And that made me reflect on how much I have changed and how much closer I have become to Him.

I remember years ago when the video ¨Because of Him¨ came out and the missionaries played that for us. It`s a short but powerful two-minute video, but at the end I remembered looking at Mom and Dad and they had tears in their eyes. I remember asking myself, ¨Why are you crying?¨ I honestly couldn`t figure it out. Also when the ¨Bible¨ videos came on the History channel and at the end Dad said, ¨He was more than a man, He is the Christ! ¨ I understood what he was saying but to be honest I didn`t feel that. But now after a long time and passing many miracles and trials especially here in the mission, I honestly feel it! I know that He is the Christ and that He came to atone for us and I have felt that, there is nothing greater in this life that feeling that and understanding it. And after watching that movie ¨The Life of Jesus Christ¨ I felt such a peace and love and desire to make it back to His presences. It made me think of a scripture in Doctrina y Convenios 50:

41. Behold, ye are little children and ye cannot bear all things now; ye must grow in grace and in the knowledge of the truth.

42. Fear not, little children, for you are mine, and I have overcome the world, and you are of them that my Father hath given me;

43. And none of them that my Father hath given me shall be lost.

44. And the Father and I are one. I am in the Father and the Father in me; and inasmuch as ye have received me, ye are in me and I in you.

45. Wherefore, I am in your midst, and I am the good shepherd, and the stone of Israel. He that buildeth upon this rock shall never fall.

46. And the day cometh that you shall hear my voice and see me, and know that I am.

47. Watch, therefore, that ye may be ready. Even so. Amen.

It is my invitation that you can watch those videos and remember your Savior and what He did for YOU! There is nothing like it, and especially with Christmas this week, you will feel such a difference!

This week we had a work visit and I was finally with Elder Von Gunten in Independencia and it was awesome! We had so much fun working together and also talking cars and the future. It`s so funny in the offices, there are three couple missionaries and man have I forgotten how much I love older people, they are so funny! Also on Sunday night the stake had a devotional and each ward sang and also our zone. We absolutely killed it! But that wasn`t the point of it, the Spirit was super strong and I hope that someone got a video of it to show to you after the mission.

That was my week! I hope that you guys have a great week and CHRISTMAS!!!!

Love,

Elder Langfoss

December 12, 2016

This last week has been a really special week but also a little hard. Something changed in the climate because my sinuses are really bad and for three days I was suffering but now it`s gone so don`t worry. But this week started with the calls for the changes, well I stayed and as well as my companion. We are super excited for that. Well once again Elder Morrell and I are in the same zone again! It`s crazy that this time we will probably end our missions here. On Saturday I reached 21 months and I feel really good. I am so excited for where I am at and what will come afterwards. This week we say many miracles with helping Jose Luis y Nora get married with all of the papers and with her getting baptized Christmas Eve and confirmed on Christmas day. Christmas is coming up so fast, I can`t even believe it!

I hope that you have a great week! I LOVE YOU!!

Love,

Elder Langfoss

Prayer:

Nora y Joseluis

Fam. Sanchez

Fam. Alonzo

Fam. Maumanì

Fam. Gutierrez

Fam. Escobedo

Saul Espinoza

Fam. Peña

Milka

Thanks as always for your help!!!

December 5, 2016

Hello everyone!

Well, all of the Christmas lights are going up here and also the heat. It is amazing on how it is opposite here than over there in MURICA. But the holidays come so fast and I can`t believe that we are now looking at Christmas! The trunky note is that this Saturday I will reach 21 months lol. As always the time is just flying and I am enjoying my time here. This upcoming week we will have transfers and I hope that we, Elder Estrada and I, will stay together for one more change. This change will the mark where I will be starting my last 12 weeks in the mission. I believe that my companion is trunkier than what I am. But I am doing really good and super happy here in the concrete jungle of dust or to say LIMA!

This last week has just flown past! I honestly don`t remember what has happened, it has gone by so fast! But Friday and Saturday were slow and hard days, and came to a point where I was just exhausted. I now know that the Lord was testing our faith and if we could suffer. It was really hard but we continued on doing the hard work and on Sunday we saw many miracles where many members brought their friends to church, many of our families that we are teaching came, and the Lord placed many people in our way that received the message. I have a testimony that we really have to push through but with faith and literally everything will work out. I have seen the miracle of the personal revelación by attending church. Our Stake President, Cortez, gave his testimony and it was super strong about tithing and really touched my heart but also of many of our investigators. Later when we visited them, they asked us on how they can pay tithing and they learned so quickly and now are paying their tithing. We need to be like that. Just as the Savior has told us to be humble like little children and keep the commandments and how we or they can know is through our testimony, so GIVE IT!! I have the invitation that each one of you will be able to give your testimony to someone during this week and by doing so, you will see a change in that person and will be a blessing for you!!

As always there was so many more stories and things that has happened this last week but this is what I would like to share with you! I love you so much and I pray for you!!!

Love,

Elder Langfoss


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page