top of page

October 10 & 17, 2016

October 17, 2016

Dear Everyone,

This week has completely flown past and I am now entering into my last week here in Independencia. I have been here FOREVER but I have loved my time here. There are many people that I have truly come to love, including my companion. He has become one of my favorites and out of all my companions we have had the most success here.

This last week has been a week of many miracles! I have seen the power of the Plan of Salvation. After the talk from President Uchdorf this last conference, I have put a goal on to be able to teach the Plan of Salvation like him. Not only do the investigators feel the Spirit, but I feel it so strongly, it helps me overcome whatever the hard circumstances that comes in front of me. We have a family that we have been teaching but it is super hard to come into contact with the husband. This last Wednesday, we finally found him. We told him about the marriage and how everything was set but he rejected the invitation with many excuses. I then felt a super strong prompting to let the subject go and teach the Plan of Salvation. We taught it and the Spirit taught and edified each one of us and at the end the whole family wanted to be married and baptized. That night we had to do the paperwork with them and they were so excited for it! The next morning, we wrote them in and they will now be married and baptized the 28th of October. But it was so amazing seeing the Lord work through us, so that this family will be able to reach their eternal potential. I was able to see a miracle with this family but also I was able to see this scripture be fulfilled in Alma 31:5, and it says,

And now, as the preaching of the word had a great tendency to lead the people to do that which was just—yea, it had had more powerful effect upon the minds of the people than the sword, or anything else, which had happened unto them—therefore Alma thought it was expedient that they should try the virtue of the word of God.

I love this scripture and especially to see it happen in front of me. We also saw another miracle with the family Ohicoa. His birth certificate has been burned and has tried everything to find a solution so that him and his family will be able to be baptized. He has been super diligent in going to church, praying and reading the Book of Mormon. This last week he finished the Book of Mormon, and the next day we found a solution with his birth certificate. I cannot explain the joy that Jesus felt when we found the solution because every prayer his has said, he has always asked for his salvation and being baptized. He has been my example on never giving up hope and pushing through and trusting in the Lord.

There have been even more miracles this last week but I felt impressed to share those two. I have the invitation to watch the talk from Uchdorf from Saturday morning session and to listen to the Spirit and His promptings. Life is so much better when we fulfill the Gospel and apply it to our lives.

I love each one of you!!!

Love,

Elder Langfoss

October 10, 2016

Dear Family and Friends,

I truly hope that each one of you is doing amazing! Well, today is officially 19 months for me! It´s remarkable that I am to that point. I would like to give a shout out to Elder Anderson for completing his two years and now is back at home! Well everything is great over here, it´s getting a little bit warmer and the days are sunnier. Our ward is awesome and as well as our investigators.

This last week we had another consejo misional with President Godfrey and it was once again very inspirational! This last Thursday I did a work visit with Elder Souza from California. It was a great work visit and we found many new investigators in his area. He only has about 6 months and I remember those days hahaha. But man does this kid look up to me and he´s super easy to get along with. He, like me, loves cars and knows a lot as well. So that was fun getting into some conversations about what we like, it´s been so long since I´ve talked cars and man do I miss it. You should be very grateful for the blessing that we have back at home!

I would like to ask that you could pray for these people as they are progressing in the Gospel of Jesus Christ, and they are:

Maryori

Family Morales

Brandy

Family Bendito

Family Castañeda

Wilder

Family Ochicoa

Family Cabereyo

Roberto

Family Loayza

I would really appreciate it and as well as they would too. I have seen so many miracles through the power of prayer and I know that through YOUR prayers, you will help these people! I remember before the mission I would say my prayers and they would more be like something memorized. However, here in the mission I have learned quickly that those prayers don´t bring much blessings, but it´s those prayers when we humbly bow before Our Heavenly Father and give everything that we have. We talk to Him as if He was right in front of us. We can talk to Him about our day, our ups, our downs, what we need to do better, our fears, and also our love for Him and our Savior. Whenever I pray like this and give everything that I have, I am ALWAYS taken back at how many blessings He gives and I feel terrific! And it always comes and I know that if each one of us does this, we can see our faith grow. This last week a scripture called my attention in Ether 12:4 and it says,

“Wherefore, whoso believeth in God might with surety hope for a better world, yea, even a place at the right hand of God, which hope cometh of faith, maketh an anchor to the souls of men, which would make them sure and steadfast, always abounding in good works, being led to glorify God.”

I love this scripture and I hope that we will be able to experiment this in our daily lives! I love each one of you and am always praying for you!!

Love,

Elder Langfoss


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page